Free Spirit

In the last few years, I have been confronted several times with this very simple question in varied contexts: “what’s next?” Sometimes I am able to give an answer straightaway. But oftentimes, I am taken off-guard. 

Planning my life has ceased to be important to me – something happened that has put me off the idea of making grand plans for the future. It’s kinda tragic, but i guess it’s just the way it is. Now, the only things I plan for is my department’s quarterly goals and my daily potassium intake. (And that has worked really well for me!) Apart from those, I’m pretty much the free spirit. I do what I want to do, go where the fancy takes me, and generally live my life the way i want to. The beautiful people I come in contact with and the wonderful things that I experience – I consider them unexpected gifts for the little things that I somehow did right.

The conventions of the world I live in however, are not very receptive nor welcoming of free spirits. There are always rules and conventions to adhere to, paths to follow and goals to reach.

In less candid moments, I tend to spend considerable time pondering on whether the turn of events in my life has been a blessing or a social curse. 

The famous Camus said: The only way to deal with an unfree world is to become so absolutely free that your very existence is an act of rebellion. Me being me, there has always been a multitude of potential and resources to rebel. The resistance to  respond to the daily temptation to break free of all conventions and to embrace my rebellious nature is my continuing tribute to a society that has always treated me well.

For me, everyday is a constant invitation to an uprising.  It is an unending challenge to transcend the temptation to give in.

Leave a comment